Dreams

by mollykl

This afternoon on my last break of the day a friend and I watched the second trailer for Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Huddled around my phone and trying to hold it steady our shit-stupid grins just got bigger and bigger. By the end I was jumping up and down and yelling (and now those of my co-workers who didn’t think I was crazy, do).

The funny thing is that the people I know who had similar reactions are not those that I would suspect. Yes, from T I would expect that, but not husband J, who although he loves him some Star Wars, is not the demonstrative type (whereas I mostly certainly am). M said she nearly cried, to which I admitted I got teary.

Star Wars was the first movie I saw in a theater. My dad took my sister and I and I swear everytime I hear that music I’m back in that movie theater (the Century domes, if you know Sacramento).

I think today was a collective moment of sheer elation and God knows we need more of those.

