(dis) or (connect)

by mollykl

Read any criticism of social media and one of the main themes is the lack of real connection. I don’t really argue that. I work for a fairly large company and over the years I’ve worked at quite a few stores and have made quite a few friends, many of whom I am friends with on Facebook. It’s a nice way to keep in touch with people, see their kids, whom I might not see otherwise, and keep up with what’s going on in their lives. I have friends that I talk with more via Snapchat than I do in “real life”. (I have one friend who is very reticent whenever we’re actually in the same room together, but “talks” to me quite a bit via text…ok, that I find weird).

There’s definitely a disconnect on social media and text that I’m very aware of, but today…well…today.

It’s been a tough week, and we’re only 2 days on. I don’t know why. I had a great weekend, wonderful time with son j and husband J, time fishing, time hanging out, beautiful spring weather. But this has been a hard week. And this afternoon it hit hard. I tried meditating, I tried practicing my fly-casting (which is another form of meditation), I tried cleaning (ditto). Nothing worked. So I picked up my phone and texted my friend A. Just told her I was trying a new recipe. Just to connect. Got an immediate response. An offer to help. Despite the “experts” opinion that there is no real connection via social media or text, it did help. I felt better, I felt more connected, and I laughed. I sent her a picture of the floor after I dropped the spoon (loaded with Chicken Tikka Masala) on it. Wasn’t mad, or upset, just laughed.

I kind of suck at asking for help. Oh, at work if I need help with a project or a display I have no problem. But asking for support when I’m just having a bad day (outside of TELLING my friend B “Do not fucking mess with me I’m having a bad day!”) I’m not so good at.

I think I just got a little better at it.

