The things that matter

by mollykl

At dinner tonight husband J and I were on our phones checking election results. I know, I know, save your “we’re bad parents comments”. When I mentioned the outcome of a certain race, he countered with another. To which I replied,

“I don’t really care”

He was a little miffed, to say the least, particularly because it was a fairly local race. He countered, “You should.”

I’ll be honest, despite having spent an enormous amount of time embroiled in Oregon politics when I lived there, I’m just not that into politics.

Oh, I vote, and I read the voters pamphlet. I try my best to make an informed choice. I don’t vote party line – I make my own choice.

But here’s what I think: it’s important, but it’s not the end of the world. And it doesn’t matter what THEY say, it matters what YOU do. How you live your life says more about you than any membership to any political party – i.e. you can talk the talk but can you walk the walk? Ultimately what matters is how you live your life – the choices you make, the children you raise – because that’s what’s going to endure, more than anything else.

And to quote Rush “If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.”

