Inspire(d)

by mollykl

a : to influence, move, or guide by divine or supernatural inspiration

b : to exert an animating, enlivening, or exalting influence on

 c : to spur on : impelmotivate

This year I turned 45. Yep, 4.5. When I was a kid 45 seemed ANCIENT, yet now that I’m 45, it seems…well, not so ancient. Yes, more than occasionally I feel old. When I look in the mirror and see the grey hair, or the lines, or feel the ache in my back at the end of the work day, or realize that most of my co-workers don’t know who Wings are (were).

 

I’m actually really lucky to work with people so much younger than myself. Yes, more than occasionally I roll my eyes at the choices they’re making, but mostly I’m inspired. Inspired by the utter courage to do the things that I always felt were, ahem, inappropriate. Inspired by the new things they throw themselves into (lookin’ at you B and D – and it’s a long way from Sacramento to Paris!). Inspired to get out of a rut and change their lives (Miss V).

 

There’s always a lot of talk about appreciating the older people you’re around, but what about the younger? You can learn just as much from them and be just as inspired.

