Slut

by mollykl

I’d like to be able to say that I’m above judging women by using this word: but let’s be honest. Hell no I’m not.  This pic made me re-think that however.

I’ve always had men as friends and now I work with a lot of young men. I smile indulgently at their behavior, so why do I roll my eyes in disgust at the same behavior from women? Nice double standard there. In fact, the same damn double standard that’s been prevalent for years and it turns out I’m just as guilty of it as others.

Here’s what a slut really is: a women who’s not interested in conforming to a moral code set upon her by society. She may not consciously know that. She may not have a sense of the hypocrisy of allowing men to do whatever they want, whenever and however, while women are shunned for the same behavior. She may realize it and not care.

But if I judge her then I’m not allowed the luxury of indignation when a man uses the word. And when any double standard of equality between the sexes exists I have no one to blame but myself.

