W is for “Weird”

by mollykl

…as in, “weird things that make me cry”. Yes, I cried when Dumbledore died, but I also cried at the season finale of “Voyager” when they come out of the wormhole and they’re surrounded by Federation ships? Yeah, just burst into tears at that moment.

I cry, EVERY SINGLE TIME, at Dogma. The scene with Bethany in the forest when the Metatron (hello, Alan Rickman, I love you) is explaining about having to tell Christ who he is.

Yes, I had to tell him. And you can imagine how that hurt the Father – not to be able to tell the Son Himself because one word from His lips would destroy the boy’s frail human form? So I was forced to deliver the news to a scared child who wanted nothing more than to play with other children. I had to tell this little boy that He was God’s only Son, and that it meant a life of persecution and eventual crucifixion at the hands of the very people He came to enlighten and redeem. He begged me to take it back, as if I could. He begged me to make it all not true. And I’ll let you in on something, Bethany, this is something I’ve never told anyone before… If I had the power, I would have. 

I cried the first time I saw Jane Austen’s work in her hand writng. This was when the British Library was still part of the British Museum (yeah, a note here: when I die can someone please sneak my ashes in and scatter them there? Thanks.) I also cried when I saw a stuffed thylacine in the Museum of Natural History of London.

I cried when I first read Antony Beevor’s “Stalingrad”, so much so that, at one point, my husband took the book from my hands and told me he was putting it away for a while, as I curled up tighter into a ball and cried myself to sleep.

I cried at the end of the last Deanna Raybourn Julia Grey book “The Dark Enquiry” (I guess that’s not so weird).  I once cried at a live performance by Tyger’s Heart Shakespeare Company in Portland Oregon  of “Much Ado About Nothing” when Benedict says to Beatrice, “I do love nothing in the world so well as you.” Simply burst into tears while my husband just stared at me as though I’d grown another head. I frequently cry at my “this day in history” app.

I cried at “Transformers”, you know, the scene where Bumblebee is being tied down? That I can blame on hormones – I was still nursing and it was the first time I’d been away from son J.

