O is for “Operation Overlord”

by mollykl

If you know me well then you know I have a soft spot in my heart for the Battle of Stalingrad, but my first love will always be my first foray into the world of military history – Operation Overlord (and Operation Neptune), otherwise known as D-Day.

I’m not sure how I wound up with a copy of Cornelius Ryan’s “The Longest Day” but was reading it at work when I was still at Broadway Coffee Merchant and my boss Dave saw it and casually said, “You know George was a British paratrooper at D-Day.”

“George, the tea guy?” George was our Murchies tea rep, an older, soft spoken, nice guy who came in and did the order and seemed shy and didn’t talk much.

“Yeah, you never can tell about people.”

I didn’t believe him. And the next time George came in I said, “Um George, Dave said you were a paratrooper at D-Day.”

“Yeah, I was.”

And I blurted out the first thing that came to my mind, “George why in the hell would you want to jump out of a plane into enemy fire?”

He answered in a typical George way, “Seemed like a good idea at the time.”

 

 

