E is for “eat”

by mollykl

I’m not a great cook. I’m a good cook, but not great. There are a couple of genres in which I excel, French being one. That is probably because for years the only cookbook I really used was Patricia Wells’ Bistro Cookbook.

My go-to menu, and ultimate comfort, is her Mistral’s Chicken with Garlic (page 179) and Madame Cartet’s Potato Gratin (page 98). I’ve been using the Georges Bertrand Picpoul de Pinet for the chicken, mostly so that when I open a bottle I don’t drink the entire thing. I like to tell husband J, when he walks into the kitchen and eyes the bottle, “I’m using it in the chicken”. Sucker. Actually, it goes very well with the recipe and it’s my new favorite wine, so it’s a win-win.

I make this meal on cold winter nights, on ad-days when I’ve been up since 2 a.m. and am tired and worn out and on any day when I just need something nice. I also make it when I want to be especially nice to husband J, because I love it when he walks into the house, sniffs, and says, “Is that what I think it is?” Son J isn’t so thrilled with this dish yet, but that just leaves more for us.

