Married

by mollykl

I’m married. Have been for almost 13 years now. Was with my now-husband-then-boyfriend for 10 years before we got married. Yes, we were “living in sin” for 5 of those years. Deal with it. I’m in the unusual position of actually still being in love with the man I married, although I’ll admit, he’s a different man than the one I fell in love with in 1989, but then, I’m a different woman. I guess that’s the point: people change and you can accept those changes or not. There are days when I go to work and vent and practically throw things I’m so angry with him. There are days when I’m silent because I’m so amazed that I found one person in the world who not only understands me but doesn’t judge me.

Some 4 years ago, pre- measure 8, I joked with co-worker J that he was welcome to get married and he could see how mundane it actually was.  He said that was the point. He wanted to do the things that I took for granted. And that was when I stopped taking the fact that I was married, and was able to get married, for granted.

