There is more to you than this if you have the courage to write it. –Little Women (1994 film)

by mollykl

I saw this quote posted today, and knew that I had my lead in to my post about NaNoWriMo.

I did it. Or rather, I didn’t do it. Well, both. I finally got off my ass and signed up and started NaNoWriMo.  What I didn’t do is finish. No t-shirt for me. And I’m okay with that, because I started. I got the first words down on paper, and once they were there and I re-read them I thought, “Damn, I’m NOT crazy, this is a great idea.”

I always thought I was one of those people who needed a deadline to flourish. No, I just need a deadline to stress out. What I need to flourish is the time to allow myself to understand what I’m doing, what I want to accomplish.

Husband J told me, “Don’t re-read, don’t edit, just get the words onto paper. And don’t expect much.” Bitter, hmm? He’s done NaNoWriMo before, and, yeah, he knows the ropes. But he doesn’t know the way I want to write.

I started, and I’m actually happy with what I’ve started with because that was what suck with me: how do I even start to tell this story? Well, I’ve a beginning. 30 days isn’t going to get this story told – give me one thousand and one and then we’ll talk again.

 

