Thank you Steve Jobs.

by mollykl

Thank you Steve Jobs. Because of you, tonight when son J mentioned that he was learning the song “America the beautiful” in school, I was able to pull up video on my phone of Ray Charles singing it, so he could see and hear how it was really supposed to be done. And of  Johnny Cash singing “This land is your land”, which he learned last week. And, well, I’m not sure what’s next, because quite honestly I’m not sure when your influence isn’t going to affect my life, or son J’s for that matter.

In 1986 I was one of only a handful of people who had a “personal computer” at college. I lugged it back from the mail room and set it up. The screen was black and green, and I only used it for the word processor, but three years later I wrote my senior project (“Jane Austen and Father Daughter Relationship”) on it. It was an Apple, of course. And a handful of years later I was in Portland, with my now-husband-then-boyfriend’s friends looking at a now (and then) relic saying “WHAT is that?”. I had to explain that “before” the Mac, there were Apple computers.

The i-phone, the i-pod (without which I’m not sure I could make it through ad day) and the i-pad were not even in our dreams. Those are great. Life-changing, one might say.

What is better? Being able to share Ray Charles and Johnny Cash with my son.

Thank you.

