4 favorite non- or low- alcohol cocktails

by mollykl

Because having a real cocktail in your kids’ wading pool is low-rent and beyond trashy, I’ve switched to low- or non-alcoholic cocktails for the time-being.  I don’t feel like I belong on reality TV, I sleep better, but I still have something awesome to drink. So here it is, 4 non- or low-alcohol cocktails.

1. My favorite is the Roy Rogers, a delightful blend of cola (I use Hansen’s because it’s made from real sugar), grenadine syrup and a maraschino cherry.

2. A Shirley Temple is another option, basically the same thing but with lemon-lime soda (again, Hansen’s makes a great one) instead of the cola.

3. For low-alchohol there’s “Cassis l’eau” from Ina Garten’s Barefoot in Paris cookbook. Just water with a splash of cassis, which I always have on hand because I’m addicted to kirs in the springtime.

4. There’s also the “player to be named later” cocktail of lemon juice, San Pellegrino, simple syrup and mint. It’s lemonade, but not. Needs a good name, though. Something cool.

