The best laid plans..oh you know the rest..

by mollykl

I had plans for today. It’s the last day of my vacation and my birthday so I’d planned to spend some completely frivolous time. There was to be trashy novels, good food, cocktails…the works. Instead, I had a sick kid this weekend, and didn’t want to send him in to school in case it returned. So son J and I had the day together.

First we went for a walk to the river where we kept an eye out for jackrabbits and deer (no to both). Then we read a story (did you know that the pronghorn antelope is the second fastest animal in the world – second only to the cheetah?), and hit the bird store for more food for the feeders. After that it was time for a new tatoo (for him) and a nap (for both of us). The afternoon was all about cookies- toffee chip bar cookies, in which something went very, very wrong and they ended up flat and very greasy. I think I might have put too much butter in. Don’t get me wrong, we still ate them. After that he got to watch Thomas while I put on the i-pod and listened to the Now Show and AC/DC and made jambalaya.  I still got my cocktail, a White Lady, and got to enjoy it before taking a shower.

It was a beautiful sunny day and I got to spend it with one of my two favorite guys, so all in all I’m not sorry that my plans went astray.

