Aack!

by mollykl

Oh god…I’ve become one of “them.””Them” being one of the “yoga changed my life” people. If you’re a fan of sci-fi you might also recognize them as the pod people from “Invasion of the body snatchers” – it is essentially the same thing, and they pretty much act just like the post-pod-i-fied. I used to laugh at those people. Oh who am I kidding, I still do, only now I laugh at myself as well.

Let’s be clear: I do not do yoga with other people. I do not do yoga in a class. In fact, I won’t even do yoga around my husband, who also does yoga. I have an aversion bordering on pathological fear of working out around other people (I blame ballet class in college).  And so I’ve got a handful of yoga dvds, all of which take an hour or so, ’cause you know, I’ve GOT an hour or so in my day to spend on yoga. Needless to say, they have dust on them. (Because I also have an hour to do housecleaning…)

But I found a podcast on i-Tunes called “Yoga and other useful stuff with Tara Stiles.”  Doing yoga with an i-pod has taken some getting used to, but it’s been a revelation. My favorite routine  is “10 minute de-stress yoga” and I do it almost everyday when I get home from work. 10 minutes. Not an hour. No chanting. No opening up my soul to the universe. No yoga instructor blathering on. She tells you how to do the pose, makes a comment about remembering to breathe and focus, tells you not to worry if you can’t do the pose completely, and that’s it. 10 minutes of yoga and I feel better, my left calf (the one I tore) feels great, I stand up straighter, my blood pressure returns to normal after a hard work day, and, god forbid, I actually smile.

So go ahead and laugh. Those of you not from California can make some disparaging comments about the state and various yoga-related stereotypes. But when you do, please just keep in mind:

I’ve already lost over ten pounds. So there.

