Injured

by mollykl

That would be me.  Torn gastrocnemis muscle, so I’m off my feet for a week, then in to see the sports medicine people at UCD to find out how many more weeks after that.

In college one day we sat around talking about how great it would be to go to prison, because then you’d have enough time to read everything you wanted. One of our classmates, L, who was older than us, mumbled aloud, “No, because you never have the book you want on you when you’re arrested.” We all fell silent and stared, and he said, “Oh, did I say that out loud?”  I learned that day that apparently prison is not the best place to do reading even if you are lucky enough to be arrested while carrying a book you’ve been itching to get into. Also, try not to get arrested in Central America or Israel.

I have a Kindle full of books, thanks to Project Gutenberg (and thanks to my husband who surprised me with a Kindle last week as an early present). I have a writing project that I’ve been complaining about not having enough time to work on. Yeah, I do not want to do either of those things right now. What I want to be able to do right now is walk, better yet run. I want to go for a run on the bike trail and be outside enjoying the sunshine and the ridiculously cold weather. I want to chase son J around the back yard and play tickle attack. But I can’t.

I know that when I return to work I’ll miss all this free time, I just wish the free time came when and how I wanted it. So here’s the question: does it ever? And should I stop looking this gift horse in the mouth?

