Obligatory NANOWRIMO post

by mollykl

Yes, as the title not-so-subtly suggests this is my obligatory post about NANOWRIMO month. (And, yes, I’m aware that the “month” is already part of the abbreviation, so I shouldn’t add it to the sentence…)

I always think this is a great idea. I always think I’d love to do it, since I once, a long time ago (in a galaxy far far away…or Spokane) wanted to be a writer. But I never manage to. Instead, I either can’t think of anything to write, which is pathetic, or I think I don’t have the time. The interesting thing about this year is that I’m reading a lot of author’s blogs, and quite a few of them are participating. Writing is their day job, but they are still using this to their advantage, which I find quite inspiring.

I wonder: do participants of the non-professional variety have ideas already in play or do they just dive in? Outlines? Research already completed? I know that two of the authors I read are using the month to advance projects they’ve already started on (and in fact, have already been contracted for).  Husband J last took part three years ago, before our son J could walk or talk.  I know he enjoyed doing it, but I didn’t ask much about his process, because, like much writing, it seemed a highly personal thing. It’s one thing to do it for a living and have your work and process out in the world to be read, judged, etc., it’s another entirely to still be starting out.

I like the idea of having a set period of time to do the work in – but then I’m a deadline girl. I set deadlines for myself for personal and work projects and stick to them. The idea of writing 50,000 words in one month, one very busy month, doesn’t actually seem daunting (well, not too much). The trick, as with most things, is just sitting down and starting.

