Dark Matter

by mollykl

Hell has officially frozen over: tonight I was looking at the wine rack and I grabbed, intentionally, a zin.

I hate zins. Hate them with the fire of a thousand suns. But I like this one from Bad Astronaut. It’s their new Dark Matter zin, and not only is it the best damn zin I’ve ever had, it’s also one of the best wines I’ve ever had. So much that I’ve already gone through several bottles, and since we only have two cases I’m starting to be concerned. My problems with zins are mainly what I think of as un-drinkability. I’m a “wine with food” girl. If it doesn’t make food taste better, I’m not interested. Sure I drink wine on its own, before dinner, or before bed with a book in my favorite red leather chair. I sold and mixed perfume for so many years that I can pick out notes with the best of them, but that’s all for nothing if I don’t want to actually drink what I’m tasting.  I really judge wine by how it tastes with food. Wine is just a great excuse to spend a little more time making dinner, as far as I’m concerned.

This one? I’ve had it with lamb london broil with rosemary, splashed a little in the pan to de-glaze with and make a kickin’ sauce. I’ve had it with my husband’s spaghetti and his “god-I-love-you-and-I’m-glad-I-married-you” garlic bread. I love it with my sausage and chicken gumbo, which is always something of a surprise, since you’d think that a spicy dish would want a nice crisp white.

It’s what wine should be. And you gotta love that it came out of a guy’s garage. Which is also, when you think about it, what wine should be.

