Always saying good-bye

by mollykl

Yesterday was R’s last day at work – she’s moving to another store next week. When she told me I nearly started crying. She’s one of my favorite people – her smile always makes my day and she’s funny as hell. A bunch of us got together in the coffee bar to say goodbye (even super-snarky M came, and that’s saying something).

Ever since I started this job I’ve met people I’ve adored and in some cases even loved. And we always have to say good-bye. Nature of business I guess. Once you get a solid team together it’s split apart so they can move good people to other stores. It makes sense, but it’s never easy.

It has been a good lesson though. Now I know that I may not have long with someone, so I damn well better appreciate them while I’ve got them.

